no, you can’t borrow my book. if you like it go buy it.

This is one of my most favbourite books and I totally thought I lent it to someone. So glad I found it, I’ve been mad at myself for months.

MAD, angry. Angry like the wake up after you were so wasted you don’t remember what you did and your BFF is mad at you because you did something stupid. (As if NONE of you have ever had that happen?)

It’s an inspiring book. My copy is very special because it is filled with notes and drawings I did. It’s writted by Paul Arden. He is a creative genius who worked with Saatchi & Saatchi for over 15 years and did some really awesome ad campaigns.

I became obsessed with PHAIDON Publishing after I found this book which lead into an obsession with Saatchi. Safe to say, I was pretty stoked to work with the Toronto Saatchi office for the Toyota car recenetly.

THIS:

I was so obsessed I wrote a letter to Roger Kennedy the Creative Director of Art and Design, Saatchi & Saatchi in the UK. I will have to dig that up because I bet reading it now & thinking of my former self would be quite charming or potentially inspiring/hilarious. Creativity & smartness are the way to my heart.

I picked up the book second hand at Gertrude & Alice, this darling little book shop on Hall Street in Bondi Beach, Australia. Why anyone would discard it is BEYONE me.

It was my favourite spot, so old & little and right beseide Le Paris-Go my fav French cafe. It was the ultimate hipster hangout before cool kids were called hipsters (was there 2004). I worked up the street at Vibes Boutique.

I’ve lent so many books outand almost al  the time, they don’t come back. If you are one of my friends out there with one of my books,yes I want it back. More importantly, why haven’t you returned it yet?

I have been a lover of books all my life. When I was a kid Mum (a new immagrant to Canada) didn’t have that many friends so she used to take us to the library and hang out there. The librarian at the Preston Library branch, Mrs. Macdonald became a close friend and we were always in the Summer Reading Club.

Reading is cool guys.

9 Comments

  1. Anonymous
    April 12, 2011 / 5:03 pm

    We should start a book club!

    • April 12, 2011 / 5:07 pm

      does that involve sitting in the park on sunny days with wine & talking about our books & stuff? Cause then I’m SO IN> #BOOKCLUBBING

  2. April 12, 2011 / 5:16 pm

    I remember your old blog post about this book – before that I genuinely felt like this book was an awesome secret. I’m so glad other people are inspired by this book – I read it often just to remind myself what path I want to be on =) Great post about a great book!

    • April 12, 2011 / 5:37 pm

      Thanks so much! Have you had your book for a long time? Such a great source of inspiration!

      • April 12, 2011 / 6:52 pm

        Actually I stole the book from my boyfriend’s house about 2 years ago…I will never forget the “I want to be as famous as Persil Automatic” line. Definitely a must-read – and I’ve never found any book that comes close to being as inspirational and creative.

  3. April 12, 2011 / 5:28 pm

    I’m going to have to pick that book up – looks great! Another one you might be interested in is “Good to Great” by Jim Collins. Its about how/why some people/companies make it big and others don’t. It has a lot of good lessons that not only relate to business but to personal goals and individuals’ lives as well. I think you’d dig it.

  4. April 12, 2011 / 5:36 pm

    I love books – my mom’s a librarian. 🙂 We have a library in our basement of books we’ve accumulated over the years. Books are awesome!

  5. April 13, 2011 / 10:03 am

    Money and books are two things I will never lend. But, if I have the former or am through with the latter I will gladly give them to you for keepsies!

    In the case of books, though, a trade is always better. Bookswaps are good, but I don’t hear of many local ones, and the selection isn’t always to my taste.

    Online bookswaps are better. Bookmooch.com used to be my favourite, but you can also do it on Goodreads now (and elsewhere), and there’s even a swap for ebooks now (ebookfling.com). Read read read!

    (I am a bit behind on my goal to read 100 books this year — sad Candice)

  6. Anonymous
    April 14, 2011 / 1:13 pm

    Reading IS cool Cas! I just joined two books clubs and can’t wait to start reading the choices!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

@casiestewart